Wednesday, 29 April 2015

A Day In A Life

As mentioned in an earlier post, I've been trying to find a routine that works for us since moving to Seattle. I haven't got it down pat yet, but this is what it is for now.

6:50 am - 7:45 am - Wakey, Wakey!
Although the alarm is set at 7am, Mr Cuppa and I wake up between 6:50 am and 7:10 am, depending on how tired we are. We then get ourselves and the kids ready for the day. Waking the children usually involves changing them while they're still slumbering away, because they don't respond to/ignore calls to wake up.

Once awake and dressed, its off to brush their teeth, followed by breakfast. For Little Man, always two soft-boiled eggs, whites only, served with soya sauce and pepper. Little Lady varies between one hard boiled egg, peanut butter sandwich or banana. Mr Milo usually has bread with kaya, cream cheese or peanut butter. I get Little Man's rejected egg yolks. Sometimes I also have a banana, or my own egg. And a cup of Milo.

Then it is time to get everyone out of the house.

8:00 am - 9:00 am - Drop Off
I'll then drive the kids to school. We get there at around 8:10am most days and the kiddos are often the first few there.

Usually, I drop Mr Cuppa off at the Park-and-Ride on the way to school, but this week, the van pool driver is out of town, so Mr Cuppa has been driving himself into town. I then take over the wheel and drive back home. It was pretty stressful the first two times I drove in the city, but I'm now a little more familiar with the route, I almost don't need directions from the GPS anymore. Almost. I get back between 9 and 9:30am, depending on the traffic.

9:30 am - 11:15 am - Chores
Depending on what needs to be done, I'll either go to the supermarket, or do some housework. I'll also start preparing lunch at this time. Usually I'll only do the prep work - start the rice, chop whatever needs chopping, and only do the cooking when I'm back after picking the children up. If it's a nice day I'll pack a picnic lunch.


11:30 am - 1:30 pm - School's Out and Lunch
The kiddos are only on half day school at the moment, so I pick them up at 11:30am. They would usually have just got in from their playtime in the outdoor play area. They usually have a little snack, and if they're up to it, we'll go for a short walk. (Love the weather here! I would never contemplate taking them for a walk after picking them up back in Singapore.)


Sometimes, I'll bring them out to a playground or park for some fun and a picnic.

2:00 pm - 5:30 pm - Playtime / Nap / Unpacking
?
After lunch, the children would be playing with their newfound old toys while I wash up and unpack. The sea shipment (all 108 boxes!!!) arrived just the previous week and so there's still lots to unpack. The children go between rediscovering their old toys, to helping me unpack, to playing with the boxes and packing paper. Because I am still a little jetlagged from my quick trip back to Singapore, I've also been taking a short afternoon nap when Little Lady has her nap. Little Man would sometimes join us, or do something quiet on his own.




 
The children usually request an afternoon snack at around 4pm. I think it's the cold.

5:30 pm - 6:30 pm - Preparing Dinner
I start prepping for dinner. As portions available are usually too large for our family to consume in one meal, and I generally dislike eating leftovers, I usually prep ahead and freeze the extra. I usually use these when I don't have enough time or energy to go the whole hog in meal preparation.

6:30 pm - 8:30 pm - Dinner and Daddy Time
Mr Cuppa usually gets back by 6:30pm and we have dinner together. (Another reason I love it here, Mr Cuppa has a much better work-life balance!)

After dinner, he spends time playing with them and giving them a bath while I take a rest. I usually have a shower while he reads to them. Then it is bedtime with me. How long they take to sleep varies between immediately to 2 (!!!) hours later. Little Man usually falls asleep much more quickly than Little Lady does.

Depending on how zonked out I am, I either sleep when they do, or get up and do some writing / blogging / reading / WhatsApping with my brother before turning in.

And that is a typical day in my life at this point.

*****
Little Man: 4 years 10 months
Little Lady: 2 years 9 months
*****

This post is part of the Day in a Life blog train hosted by Mum in the Making. Click on the button to take a 24 hour peek into the lives of different mummies, or link up with your own post!


 
Next on the train is Angie Yeow.
 
Angie is an educator at heart and by profession. She blogs at https://growinghearts123.wordpress.com/. A Hands On Mum, take a peek into her kids' daily lessons, playtime and routine of an early bedtime in her family tomorrow.
  

4 comments:

  1. It's so nice to be able to go for daily walks after school, especially when the weather is good, isn't it? And yes, work-life balance is definitely better overseas, I think. Even though you've had to uproot your entire family, I think it looks like a lot of fun! Enjoy your time there, and hopefully, we'll get to visit you one day. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes! I love the walks. Did you take lots of them when you were in Oz?

      Delete
  2. Oh I agree about the work life balance overseas! We were based in Europe for a year and the hubs ended work much earlier. I think you're settling down so well over there! Love that you can go for walks and picnics and not worry so much about the heat, unlike SG! Thanks for hopping on!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The kids really love that they have more time with Daddy.

      Thanks for hosting the train!

      Delete

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...